Karen’s Killer Book Bench: Prima Donna by Laura Drewry

読書  KAREN’S KILLER BOOK BENCH Welcome to Karen’s Killer Book Bench where readers can discover talented new authors and take a peek inside their wonderful books. This is not an age-filtered site so all book peeks are PG-13 or better. Come back and visit often. Happy reading!

Prima Donna

A September 23, 2014 Release
Loveswept

PRIMA DONNA
       By Laura Drewry

Book Blurb

In USA Today bestselling author Laura Drewry’s witty, sizzling, and tender romance for readers of Jill Shalvis and Susan Mallery, a woman who can’t slow down discovers that the perfect guy is in hot pursuit.

Even when her hair salon goes under and she’s on the brink of breaking, Regan Burke keeps her “I’m just fine” attitude. She’s had a tough life, coping with a difficult family and keeping her act together…barely. Right now, she just needs a job, any job, so she can pay her mother’s medical bills. It’s the exact wrong time for Carter Scott to come into her life—and to be so damn sexy, so distracting, and so determined to get close.

Carter isn’t looking for anything serious—his heart belongs to the kids who depend on his pediatric practice—but something about Regan makes him reconsider. Maybe it’s the scars she hides so well, the secrets she can’t share. Carter knows all about that kind of pain, and he wants to help. But offering Regan a job in his office only makes things worse, even if their chemistry is off the charts. Lucky for them both, Carter isn’t about to let go of love without a fight.

PRIMA DONNA
      By Laura Drewry

Excerpt

Carter hung his helmet on the handlebar, then sauntered over to where she stood in front of the glass door, shivering in her way-too-big green sweatshirt as she watched the truck pull away.

“Hey.” She wrapped her arms over her stomach, pressed her lips together, and blinked up at him. No mistake about it, the guard was down and she was fighting like hell to get it back up. “What’re you doing here?”

“There’s someth . . . you okay?”

“Yeah, I’m f—” She snapped her mouth closed, took a second to breathe, then tried again. When her mouth opened and closed two more times without uttering a sound, Carter pushed the door open and ushered her inside. She covered her mouth with one hand and held the other up, palm out. “Give me a minute.”

Without a backward glance, she bolted to the back of the salon and disappeared into the bathroom, her long ponytail bobbing against her back as she moved. Carter stood inside the door with his hands stuffed in his pockets, staring at the compact empty space. The guy in the truck really did take everything; the sinks, the chairs, the shelves. Hell, even the mirrors were gone.

It seemed smaller with everything gone but for some reason the void was huge. What was he supposed to do now? Offering her a new job so soon after her own business closed seemed wrong, sort of like he wasn’t giving her time to . . . what? To grieve?

Maybe he should call Jayne. This was definitely one of those chicks-needed situations where they could cry and eat ice cream and do each other’s nails or whatever it was they did. It was definitely not something a guy was good at.

He’d just pulled his phone out when Regan stepped out of the bathroom; no tears, but her eyes were still glassy, and if she chewed her bottom lip any harder, she’d chew it right off.

“Sorry ’bout that.” She smiled brightly—too brightly—and stopped well out of his reach. “What’s up?”

“Regan—” Carter stuffed the phone back in his pocket and took a step toward her, but she backed away, keeping a good wide gap between them. “You sure you’re okay?”

“Yeah, of course.” Her voice was quiet, soft, and when it started to waver, she cleared her throat and spoke louder. “I’m fine.”

“Right. Fine.” He tipped his head to the right and stared back at her. She could say whatever she liked, it didn’t take a rocket scientist to figure out her bullshit meter was getting dangerously close to red-lining.

 Link to Follow Tour:
http://www.tastybooktours.com/2014/07/prima-donna-by-laura-drewry.html

Goodreads Link:
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/20945514-prima-donna?from_search=true

LauraAbout the author, Laura Drewry…

Laura Drewry had been scribbling things for years before she decided to seriously sit down and write. After spending eight years in the Canadian north, Laura now lives back home in southwestern British Columbia with her husband, three sons, a turtle named Sheldon, and an extremely energetic German shepherd. She loves old tattered books, good movies, country music, and the New York Yankees.

~~~

Links to Laura’s website, blog, books, etc.

Website: http://www.lauradrewry.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Laura-Drewry-Author/229599547078623

Twitter: https://twitter.com/lauradrewry

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/994651.Laura_Drewry

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00IBZ60E6?ie=UTF8&tag=randohouseinc-20&linkCode=xm2&camp=1789&creativeASIN=B00IBZ60E6

B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/prima-donna-laura-drewry/1118851140?ean=9780804177740

iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/prima-donna/id841782953?mt=11&uo=4&at=10lrom

~~~

**SPECIAL GIVEAWAY**

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Prima-Donna-Laura-Drewry

This entry was posted in Blog Hop, Karen's Killer BOOK BENCH. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Karen’s Killer Book Bench: Prima Donna by Laura Drewry

  1. Laura Drewry says:

    Hi Karen – thanks so much for posting the excerpt and being part of the PRIMA DONNA blog tour! 🙂
    All the best,
    Laura

  2. Thank you for hosting today!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *