Karen’s Killer Fixin’s **Author Special** with THE WOMAN IN THE CAMPHOR TRUNK: An Anna Blanc Mystery by Jennifer Kincheloe #recipe ~ Cream of Chicken Soup, circa 1905

CookingKaren’s Killer Fixin’s
**AUTHOR SPECIAL**
with Jennifer Kincheloe!

Welcome to my Friday bonus feature called Karen’s Killer Fixin’s **Author Special**!! Today, in lieu of one of my own recipes, I’m going to introduce you to a new author who will share one of her favorite recipes. Not only will you and I occasionally learn how to make something new and delicious, but we’ll get a chance to check out some wonderful authors. Introducing author, JENNIFER KINCHELOE, and her favorite recipe for CREAM OF CHICKEN SOUP, CIRCA 1905

~~~

THE WOMAN IN THE CAMPHOR TRUNK
An Anna Blanc Mystery
BY JENNIFER KINCHELOE

BLURB

Los Angeles, 1908. In Chinatown, the most dangerous beat in Los Angeles, police matron Anna Blanc and her former sweetheart, Detective Joe Singer, discover the body of a white missionary woman, stuffed in a trunk in the apartment of her Chinese lover. If news about the murder gets out, there will be a violent backlash against the Chinese. Joe and Anna work to solve the crime quietly and keep the death a secret, reluctantly helped by the good-looking Mr. Jones, a prominent local leader.

Meanwhile, the kidnapping of two slave girls fuels existing tensions, leaving Chinatown poised on the verge of a bloody tong war. Joe orders Anna to stay away, but Anna is determined to solve the crime before news of the murder is leaked and Chinatown explodes.

What reviewers are saying…

“The feisty heroine’s sleuthing abilities and tricky love life make it hard to put this fast-paced historical mystery/romance down and leaves you wanting more.” -Kirkus Reviews

“[A] winning sequel…. Kincheloe skillfully juxtaposes a witty, playful voice with richly evocative details that bring L.A.’s Chinatown—and its long history of ethnic tensions—to life.” -Publishers Weekly

“Delightful…. Anna is a wonderfully independent character. Fans of Rhys Bowen’s Molly Murphy and Kerry Greenwood’s Miss Phryne Fisher will become fast friends with Anna Blanc.” -Booklist, STARRED REVIEW

~~~

THE WOMAN IN THE CAMPHOR TRUNK
An Anna Blanc Mystery
BY JENNIFER KINCHELOE

EXCERPT

 

Meet Author Jennifer Kincheloe…

Jennifer grew up in Southern California, but has traveled to such places as Nicaragua, Ethiopia, and Papua New Guinea. She’s been a block layer, a nurse’s aid, a fragrance model, and on the research faculty at UCLA, where she spent 11 years conducting studies to inform health policy. Jennifer currently lives in Denver, Colorado with her husband and two teenagers, two dogs, and a cat. There she conducts research on the jails.

I hope you enjoy the recipe Jennifer is sharing today on Karen’s Killer Fixin’s. Happy Eating!

~~~

Links to Jennifer’s website, blog, books, etc.

Contact

Visit Jennifer at www.jenniferkincheloe.com

@jenkincheloe

www.pinterest.com/jrkincheloe

www.facebook.com/TheSecretLifeofAnnaBlanc

Purchase Links

Barnes and Noble
https://www.barnesandnoble.com/reviews/the-woman-in-the-camphor-trunk-jennifer-kincheloe/1125814906

Amazon
https://www.amazon.com/Woman-Camphor-Trunk-Mystery-Mysteries/dp/1633883639

Karen

P.S. We’re at 352 recipes and counting with this posting. Hope you find some recipes you like. If this is your first visit, please check out past blogs for more Killer Fixin’s. In the right hand column menu, you can even look up past recipes by type. i.e. Desserts, Breads, Beef, Chicken, Soups, Author Specials, etc.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

NOTE FROM JENNIFER: In novels, food is a part of the setting, a way of conjuring time and place. In my latest mystery, The Woman in the Camphor Trunk, the protagonist Anna Blanc–a disgraced and disowned heiress—suffers because she never learned to light a stove, much less make pork cake, pink soup with marrow balls, or any of the other delicacies the rich ate in 1900s Los Angeles. Anna lives off Cracker Jacks and is wasting away.

To give you a sense of what cooking was like in Anna Blanc’s world, I’m going to share a recipe from Mrs. Frank H. Davis of Glendora, California. It comes from the 1905 Los Angeles Times Cookbook, which I used for culinary research. See if it doesn’t conjure a simpler time.

CREAM OF CHICKEN SOUP, CIRCA 1905

Cut in pieces a plump chicken and boil until tender.

Strain.

To the liquid add:

1 cup of boiled rice
2 tablespoons flour in one-third cup of butter
Salt and pepper
A dash of paprika
1 cup of sweet cream

Write me and let me know how yours turned out. And, as Anna Blanc would say, bon appetit.

To get your FREE copy of the 1905 Los Angeles Times Cookbook, sign up for my mailing list at www.jenniferkincheloe.com.

~~~

Thanks, Jennifer, for sharing your book with us!

Don’t miss the chance to read this book!

This entry was posted in Karen's Killer Fixin's and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Karen’s Killer Fixin’s **Author Special** with THE WOMAN IN THE CAMPHOR TRUNK: An Anna Blanc Mystery by Jennifer Kincheloe #recipe ~ Cream of Chicken Soup, circa 1905

  1. Helen Rodin Drake says:

    Hi Jennifer,
    The soup looks delicious.
    I’ve never read a period Mystery that takes place in Chinatown and will have to try your Series.

  2. Thanks for the recipe! Jennifer, can’t wait to read THE WOMAN IN THE CAMPHOR TRUNK! Hope to see you soon.

  3. Karen Docter says:

    Good morning, Jennifer, and welcome back to Karen’s Killer Fixin’s. Love the old recipe! I have several old cookbooks on my shelves and it’s fun to sift through them once in a while to discover new “old” recipes. Thanks for sharing your book with us, too. Really enjoyed your audiobook excerpt. What fun!

  4. Kathleen Bylsma says:

    The recipe sounds very good, minus the corn! 😉
    Thanks for the introduction Karen and nice to meet you, Jennifer!

  5. Thanks Kathleen,

    The old recipes are super simple and sometimes surprising. But I love giving them a try.

    Cheers,
    Jennifer

  6. Eileen AW says:

    Thank you for sharing with us. The soup recipe sounds delish.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.