Karen’s Killer Fixin’s **Author Special** with COFFEE & CRIME, A Scotti Fitzgerald Mystery Book 1 #Noir #Crime by Anita Rodgers #recipe ~ Scotti’s Chocolate Sour Cream Cupcakes #Noir #Crime


Karen’s Killer Fixin’s
**AUTHOR SPECIAL**
with ANITA RODGERS!

Welcome to my Friday bonus feature called Karen’s Killer Fixin’s **Author Special**!! Today, in lieu of one of my own recipes, I’m going to introduce you to a new author who will share one of her favorite recipes. Not only will you and I occasionally learn how to make something new and delicious, but we’ll get a chance to check out some wonderful authors. Introducing author, ANITA RODGERS, and her favorite recipe for SCOTTI’S CHOCOLATE SOUR CREAM CUPCAKES!

~~~

COFFEE & CRIME
A Scotti Fitzgerald Mystery
BY ANITA RODGERS

Blurb

Who knew that buying a diner could be murder?

Welcome to the whacky world of plucky waitress and pastry chef, Scotti Fitzgerald, where food is love and the answer to most problems.

Except perhaps, murder.

After five years of working her tail off to buy Manny the Cuban’s diner, Scotti is hurtling down the home stretch to seal the deal. But her investor’s sudden death stops everything in its tracks—and the money she was counting on is gone.

Racing against time, scrambling for money, and competing against a secret buyer, Scotti’s once well-ordered life is now totally out of control. If she wants her diner dreams to come true, she’ll have to put on her big girl pants, step into a world of high society, deceit, and back stabbing and solve a murder. Piece of cake, right?

Fans of Stephanie Plum and Kinsey Milhone will enjoy this fun and fast-paced mystery—starring quirky and colorful characters who’ll feel like old friends that you’ll find yourself rooting for at every twist and turn.

COFFEE & CRIME
A Scotti Fitzgerald Mystery
BY ANITA RODGERS

Character Interview

1. What is your name? Do you have a nickname?

My name is Prescott Fitzgerald but everybody calls me, Scotti.

2. Who is your best friend? What kinds of things do you do when you’re together?

Zelda Carter is my best friend, business partner and often, my conscience. We met at the Harmony House foster care facility when we were 8 and have been best buds ever since. We do pretty much everything together. We work at Manny the Cuban’s diner as waitresses, but I also make the baked goods and she helps me with that on what we all ‘Pie Day’. I hate to drive so usually we rattle around in Zee’s beat-up old Jeep. Though I have to close my eyes most of the time because she is a maniac in traffic.

3. If you have a family, how do you get along with them? If you don’t, are there people in your life that you consider family? How do you get along with them?

I was abandoned when I was a baby and went into the foster system. If I have any family (blood relations) I don’t know who they are or why my mother gave me up. For now, Zee is my family and that works okay for me.

4. Do you have a birthmark? Scars? Where are they? How did you get them?

After years of baking and cooking (it’s my super power) I have developed ‘kitchen fingers’ which means, my fingertips have been burned so often they have permanent callouses. So, I can pick up pretty much anything, right out of the oven. Though I usually try to find a pot holder. No physical scars. But I do have very curly hair that likes to frizz up at any opportunity.

5. When you’re angry, what do you do? Where do you go? How do you deal with your anger?

I cook and clean—usually at the same time. I’ve come up with some of my best recipes that way. Luckily Zelda likes to eat, so I never have to worry about food going to waste.

6. A penguin walks up to you, right now, wearing a sombrero. What does he say to you and why is he here?

“Hola, Miss Scotti. How do you like my sombrero? It’s muy bonita, si? I think it is good enough that you should make me a pie. Or two pies. Si, two pies and I will let you wear it.”

7. What’s the one thing you’re afraid of losing?

My independence. All the years in foster care, I was told what to do, where to go, when I could talk, when to sleep, when to eat—even what kind of underwear I could wear. Once I got out of the system I promised myself no one would ever control me like that again.

8. What makes you laugh out loud?

Zelda’s impression of Manny. It’s amazing and perfect. I never get tired of her making fun of him.

9. What’s your favorite food?

I love all kinds of food. I love to cook and try new things all the time. But really what is life without pie?

10. What’s the one thing you want out of life that you don’t think you can have? Why can’t you have it?

Family. Or just knowing where I came from. Why my mother didn’t want me. Someday, I’m going to find out. But also, I want a family of my own, you know, kids, husband, a nice house. Something I can call my own. People who won’t desert me and whom I won’t desert, either.

About Author Anita Rodgers…

Anita Rodgers is the author of the psychological suspense novel, False Witness, A Dread So Deep, the Scotti Fitzgerald Mystery Series, and the thriller trilogy, The Dead Dog Trilogy.

She’s a writer, a pet mom, a gardener, a cook, and a lover of puzzles. She lives in Southern California with her beloved terrier/poodle Lily and silly cat, Bitzy.

If you’re looking for her around town, she can usually be spotted at Starbucks contemplating the perfect crime over a cup of Sumatra.

She has a serious social media addiction, is obsessed with GIFs, and loves to interact with family, friends, and fans on Facebook and Twitter.

~~~

Links to Anita‘s Website, blog, books, etc.

Download her free story, Sally & Gem: https://books.noisetrade.com/anitarodgers/sally-gem

For updates on her books, upcoming projects, new releases, bonus content, and VIP freebies, subscribe to her newsletter: http://eepurl.com/bwQYef

Twitter: https://twitter.com/WCannie

Facebook:
https://www.facebook.com/AnitaRodgersMysteryWriter/

Bookbub:
https://www.bookbub.com/authors/anita-rodgers

Goodreads:
https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/3015363.Anita_Rodgers

I hope you enjoy the recipe Anita is sharing today on Karen’s Killer Fixin’s. Happy Eating!

Karen

P.S. We’re at 466 recipes and counting with this posting. Hope you find some recipes you like. If this is your first visit, please check out past blogs for more Killer Fixin’s. In the right-hand column menu, you can even look up past recipes by type. i.e. Desserts, Breads, Beef, Chicken, Soups, Author Specials, etc.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

~~~

**SPECIAL GIVEAWAY**: Anita will give away an e-book copy of COFFEE & CRIME to one lucky reader who comments on her Karen’s Killer Fixin’s blog. Happy Reading!!

Thanks, Anita, for sharing your book with us!

Don’t miss the chance to read this book!

 

 

This entry was posted in Karen's Killer Fixin's and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Karen’s Killer Fixin’s **Author Special** with COFFEE & CRIME, A Scotti Fitzgerald Mystery Book 1 #Noir #Crime by Anita Rodgers #recipe ~ Scotti’s Chocolate Sour Cream Cupcakes #Noir #Crime

  1. I love Anita Rodgers’ books! This one sounds intriguing and delightful. The recipe sounds scrumptious, too.

  2. Kathleen Bylsma says:

    Oddly enough, New to me author but not for long. Love the set up, cover and character interview.
    Thanks, Karen and Anita

  3. Karen Docter says:

    Good morning, Anita, and welcome back to Karen’s Killer Fixin’s. I enjoyed the interview with Scotti! What fun to learn some more things about her. I really enjoy humor, even in the suspense I read. Love the recipe, too. Can’t wait to try both! Thanks for sharing your book with us today.

    • Hi Karen,
      Thanks for having me and Scotti. Definitely check her out, if you get a chance and the recipe too. We’re doing a bookclub with Coffee & Crime on Friday, March 6th at the Pen & Muse, if you want to join us. Should be fun.
      Cheers!

  4. Helen Rodin Drake says:

    Hi Anita,
    Scotti sounds like a fascinating character. Her history is different from other sleuths.
    Your recipe looks delicious!

  5. bn100 says:

    nice recipe

  6. Judy Tulloch says:

    Another new author to me! Thanks Karen!
    Hi Anita! The blurb really caught my interest. The character interview was fun. The book sounds like a fun read!
    The cupcakes sound delish, but I’m a diabetic and it’s just me and my cat. If I made them I’d eat all of them and that wouldn’t be good. Thanks for sharing both book and recipe!

    • Hi Judy,
      Thank you. I know I had a lot of fun writing the books. Scotti and Zelda are a hoot.

      I hear you on the cupcakes, I would eat all of them too. I suppose you could try using Stevia or a natural sweetner that doesn’t spike the blood sugar if you wanted. Or make them when you know company is coming. 😉

      Cheers!

  7. Eileen AW says:

    Thanks for joining us and sharing your book and recipe. This story sounds intriguing and delightful. That Scottie sounds like a character. The recipe sounds scrumptious, too.

    • Hi Eileen,
      Thank you! I wrote this series with the goal of offering books that would give readers a good laugh and a mystery to solve. Life can be so tough sometimes, it’s nice to have something to cheer you.

      Thanks so much for coming by and checking us out.

      Cheers!

  8. Tena says:

    Sounds like a wonderful read! Love meeting new authors!

Leave a Reply to Tena Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.